Homemade Carrot Cake

I LOVE carrot cake!

I also love nuts, so it’s an all-in-all good combination!

Here is a recipe I recently found for a ‘Old Fashion Homemade Carrot Cake’ . . . got to admit . . this was my FIRST ‘from scratch’ carrot cake.  This was no box-mix-started cake either.

And it was WORTH IT!

Enjoy!!

~ Carrot Cake ~

2 C flour

2 t baking powder

1 1/2 t cinnamon

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1/2 t cloves

1/2 t allspice

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t ginger

1 1/4 C oil

1 1/2 C sugar

4 eggs

2 C finely grated carrots (about 3)

8 oz. crushed pineapple (drained)

1 C chopped walnuts (I used pecans, less of them AND I toasted them first)

Medium bowl: combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, cloves, allspice, nutmeg and ginger.  Stir well and then set aside.  Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Large Bowl: Combine oil and sugar with electric mixer.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Beat in carrots and pineapple.  On continuous low speed, beat in flour mixture until all is moistened.  Add nuts.

Transfer to greased and floured bundt pan.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Or so.

Let cool for about an hour.

(or if you have absolutely NO patience for things to ‘cool down’, put it in your fridge for about 15-20 minutes!)

Icing:  Mix 1 C confectioner’s sugar, 4 ounces (soft) cream cheese, 1 t vanilla until smooth.  Gradually add 1/3 C heavy cream.

I added food coloring to give it a ‘fall-like-look’!  You can also add more nuts on the top.  Again, I live dangerously, so I added cute little fall sprinkles my mom picked up for me at a local store.


Leave a Reply

