Pastor Ward

 

This man of God, was the man who worked in and through my life, by the power of the Holy Spirit, to lead me to Christ.  I remember that day as if it were yesterday.  It was a Sunday evening service.  He didn’t say anything fancy.  He didn’t add to Scripture or assume, and yet he gave it with simplicity of heart, clear and direct.

I went home that evening with a heavy burden on my heart.  I couldn’t believe what MY sin had done to Christ.

And, yet, He STILL loved me and longed for me to seek Him.

I sat down, alone, at my kitchen table, with tears in my eyes and received Him as my King.  He entered my heart that day and has been near and present ever since.  “No man shall snatch you out of My Hand” became a personal message for me that day.

I was only 6 years old.  And, I know that the Lord used Pastor Ward to touch my life in a special way that evening, for such a young little girl to feel so convicted.

He went to be with our Lord, and Savior, this afternoon.

Please join me in prayer for his family.

 

Church History and Background:

n April 7, 1963, the Meadowdale Brethren Bible Class, under the direction of Rev. Russell Ward, held its first worship service in a rented home on Siebenthaler Avenue in northwest Dayton. Three months later, a 4-acre parcel of land on Basore Road was purchased. It would be two more years until building plans were approved and construction of our first church building was started. The first worship service was held in the “unfinished” church on March 5, 1967.

As the church continued to grow, we were able to call Pastor Ward to “full-time” status in April 1971. In 1978, as our congregation grew, it was obvious that additional staff would be necessary.

In 1983, a two-story addition was completed including classrooms, nurseries, offices, and a multi-purpose room. In 1989, Senior Pastor Russell Ward stepped aside to allow Pastor Skip to become Senior Pastor. Pastor Ward was honored with the title, Pastor Emeritus.

There will always be a special place, for this amazing man, in my heart.

Leave a Reply

