Funny Quotes

PETER

On New Year’s Day, Tim’s parents graciously treated us to an entire day at the Creation Museum.  It was simply amazing!!  We left the house at 9AM and didn’t leave the Museum until about 4:30, so needless to say, the boys were bushed!!  Peter insisted that he ‘wasn’t sleepy’ at all . . . even though he could barely keep his eyes open.  (ever heard of ‘Momma knows best’?? – it’s true!!)  So, in the van, he kept asking for his Leapster, knowing full well that he wasn’t allowed to play it, since I made it very clear that I wanted him to sit back and ‘rest’.  He gradually lowered his arm next to his car seat and began to stroke the case that was holding the Leapster.  He said something to the effect of “Boy . . I sure wish I could just play one game on my Leapster” . . so, it was clear that he was not going to obey.  I told him that I was going to remove the Leapster from his view so to take any temptations away.  I sat the Leapster on the floor and went back to my knitting.  Seconds later, I saw out of the corner of my eye, Peter, once again, leaning over his car seat and feeling for something next to him.  He found a piece of paper (it was a church budget sheet with a bunch of crunched numbers and categories written on it).  He asked what it was, and I told him.  He then asked if he could sit there and read it.  I said “Sure – knock yourself out”.  He looked up at me, looked down at the paper, now in his hands.  Looked back up at me and with a little smirk on his innocent face said, “You DO realize, though, that I’m going to end up playing with it?”  I just about fell out of my seat laughing.  What 5 year old talks like that?!?!?

JAMES

Earlier today, I had a funeral that I was playing for, so Peter needed dropped off at school, Viking and James needed dropped off at Dot’s house and I needed to get to the funeral home by 9:30.  It was quite the rush this morning.  Between packing a dog (which, by the way, is a lot more extensive than packing for the boys), food, water dish, leash, toys and bed, putting the dog in his cage, putting him in the car, bathing two boys, getting Peter dressed for school, packing his snack, drying their hair, putting on coats, gloves and hats, grabbing my music (after showering and getting dressed formally for the funeral service), threw on some make-up and we were out the door.  Whew!!

After letting Mr Tim Horton supply breakfast for the boys and a cup of joe for myself, we dropped Pete off and headed to Grandma’s to drop off Viking and James.

{background – as many parents do, Tim and I spell things out to one another in the mixed company of our children.  Now, Peter’s getting to the point where this will not no longer be effective, as he is beginning to spell and read himself, now.  James on the other hand . . . well, let’s just say, we’ll be able to use this method for a while with him!}

Here’s that conversation:

James – Mom, can you make the sun go away, it’s in my eyes!

Mom – James, you ask that all of the time and you know I can’t do that.

James – But, I don’t like it in my eyes.

Mom – Here, I have your sunglasses.  Wear these.

James – But, I don’t wanna wear sungwases. (how he says it)

Mom – Put them on now, 1 . . . 2 . . .   (he quickly puts them on)

James – Oh, that’s better!!

Mom – See, I told you that your sunglasses would block the sun.  That’s why Mommy wears her sunglasses too!

James – Yeah. . . like 2 blocks!

Mom – What??

James – You know, like 2 blocks.  Sunblock and ‘ball – block’

Mom – ‘Ball block’??

James – Yeah, ball block.  You know, like these . . (points to his sunglass lenses), they’re like little balls.

Mom – Balls???

James – YES!  P – I – T – S, balls!!!

He (apparently) is trying to spell like Mommy and Daddy . . . . worth the shot!  🙂


One thought on “Funny Quotes

  1. Catherine says:

    Hahahahahahaaa!!!!! P-I-T-S, Balls!! I love it. Your stomach muscles must constantly be sore from laughing. Thanks for sharing that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

