Emotional Rollercoaster

This weekend was filled with highs and lows.  And, the highs were like mountain top experiences and the lows were heart wrenching.  One of the ‘highs’ was on Friday night.  Tim and I – along with another couple from our church – took on the ‘task’ (even thought I don’t really see it as that, I truly see it as a totally fun opportunity to be with some cool teenagers!) of Youth Group Leaders.  We are sharing this opportunity with an amazing couple – and I am SO thankful to work so well and close with such godly people.  Our personalities mesh so well and we have laughed until almost tears and have joined with each other over sorrows and painful experiences – and it has been wonderful!  I am really looking forward to getting to know them better, grow as leaders, unified and to have this incredible chance to be accountable for one another in and through everything we do in leadership.  We had a wonderful time with the teenagers – ordered a ton of pizza, had lots of snacks and pop and a few homemade goodies too!  We played Rock Band, guessing games, wii games and really had a total blast with the teens.  We had about 7 kids, and at least 4 more planning on coming regularly and have had SO much support from our church, I can’t even put into words what it has meant to Tim and I.  A.Ma.Zing.

My ‘low’ point this week was when I heard the news of a friend from church, Susie Thomas, who has two adorable kiddo’s (my boys’ ages) and just adopted a little boy last year, from Rwanda – has a softball size tumor in her brain.  It was devastating news.  My heart just dropped.  Total shock.  I have been praying for her, her family and all those involved in this process.  In addition, she is also 14 weeks pregnant, which intensifies the situation by leaps and bounds, but makes it that much more dependant and solely reliable on God.  He is capable and able to do SO much more than we could ever think or imagine and in THAT I am confident.  She will be having surgery within the next few days – and I truly ask for prayers for her.  Not ‘good thoughts’.  Not ‘sending good feelings’.  Prayer.  To God, only.  He is the Perfecter of her faith, the Author of her life and the Sustainer of her whole being.  I also know that no matter what happens, it is good.  He is good.  It is to His will and for His glory.

James is learning his letter recognition and how to write letters and numbers.  SO proud of him!

Peter is reading and acing all of his reading homework and assignments with 100%’s- down the board.  SUPER thrilled!

Tim is feeling much better and will be seeing his Proctologist on Monday, again, to make sure everything is continuing in the right direction.

As far as I’m concerned, I have lots of goals I want to meet this year, but am super confident that they may not all ‘come true’ – so learning to be flexible and live in the moment.  I continue with lessons, Monday through Friday and wouldn’t trade it for the world.  I think my 5th’s disease has finally kick the bucket and hope to get back to the gym soon!  I have some amazing things and events happening in the next 6-7 months and can’t wait to share them all -soon! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

