The Power of Providence

I am a big fan of God’s providence.  I say that partly kiddingly.  His providence, of course, is always perfect and has nothing to do with what I think is right or wrong, good or bad.  He has the best way of doing things, because He is the One who created those things to even have their existance – so Who better to know??

One of my favorite verses comes from Jeremiah 29:11 –

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

  Sounds like He cares, doesn’t it?  I LOVE having a Heavenly Father Who knows, Who cares, Who loves, Who likes, Who promises, Who sanctifies, Who teaches, Who sympathizes, Who gives second, third, ….. a bizillion chances.  Who never turns His face away from His children.  Who reaches out with open arms every time we screw up.  Who has been there in the midst of temptation, just so that He may sympathize and be the ultimate example of patience, endurance and victory over our own trials and temptations.
His providence is great – but I have been recently reminded of those ‘smaller’ providential moments.  Those small, and what (at the time) may seem insignificant moments that make you think, “Hmmmm.  That was pretty cool”
Tim and I had quite a difficult week while James was on Spring Break.  Although he is only going to Preschool two days a week – his vacation week seemed to last an eternity!  Thursday was the worst of the days.  I won’t going into all of my reasons and complaints …. but, let’s just say it went from bad (lying, talking back) to worse (peed in Tim’s car on the way home from Maunday Thursday service – just because).  So, Friday was looking grim, although it had not come yet.
   Tim and Peter had off on Good Friday, so we decided to make the most out of our day off.  We had a humungous list of errands to run, places to be, things to get, etc.  We were taking Tim’s car (i.e. ‘no dvd, no radio, no cd, no room for toys, total ‘sports car’ – every Moms nightmare!).  That just about made me panic, knowing how much James needs stimulation constantly.   I went under our bed, that morning, to get out some shoes I had stuffed underneath and noticed a huge plastic container.  As I opened it, I just stopped and laughed.  I guess you could say, I ‘L-O-L’ed!! 🙂   There, filled to the top, was Christmas presents I had planned on wrapping and giving to the boys for Christmas.   I totally and completely forgot that they were there!!!  Tim suggested that I give some of the little ones to the boys NOW, so that they would have something to play with in the car.  Well, to make a long story short – we left the house at 9AM, ate both meals out, ran multiple errands and did not return home until 4PM.  The boys (AND James) were angels!!!!   I was in as much shock as one could be in at this age, without passing out!
  I told Tim that those toys were a God-send.  And, I really was being literal.  I had no idea those toys were under my bed.  It could’ve been very easy to find them at any other time …. yet, for whatever reason, I only saw that box THAT day.  God was SO good to us.  Again – I know that this seems silly.  But, I’m trying to see the simple, little things in life, and see how they fit in the big picture of our lives.   God allowed me to find that box that day, knowing that my kids needed something to entertain them during our busy day.   It was a smooth-sailing day for all of us.  And, we had the most fun family day that I could ever imagine!  So many laughs and not a single tear shed.  That’s big news for us! 🙂
   Anyway.  I’m choosing to pay close attention to these little providential moments, from God.  And, I want my kids to capture them as well and to always give thanks to our Heavenly Father in and through all things!
Leave a Reply

