Creamy Cheesy Broccoli Soup

 

This is the First (Official) Soup of the Season here in the Weldon Household!  Even though – technically – it’s ‘Summer’, and even though it may have been 86 degrees yesterday, and even though my husband refuses to eat hot soup on a day where you still need suntan lotion, and even though I’ve already pulled out my Christmas music selections (and added to them recently) – all those things aside …. it’s Fall in THIS house! 🙂

I used to be very by-the-book when it came to recipes.  Well, honestly, when I was first married, I didn’t think I needed to be … therefore lots of prepared meals flopped, badly, because I thought I knew what I was doing.  So … due to lots of life experience, and making 438,916 meals (slight exaggeration) I’m finally getting to that point where I can begin to create my own ‘versions’ of recipes.  I use cook books still, and for the most part, follow them ingredient by ingredient – but, have found myself improvising many of them.  Here’s a basic cheesy broccoli soup recipe that I added my own ‘flare’  to.

I, first, steamed 2 heads of broccoli and a half yellow pepper (chopped) and red pepper (chopped) in a half inch of water.  Once they were tender (to my liking) I removed them from the saucepan, and put them in another container to add back to the soup later. I rinsed out the same saucepan – mostly to save having to wash multiple dishes – and used about 1 1/2 – 2 cups of milk, a crushed garlic clove, 2 teaspoons of chicken flavoring and some seasoning salt and brought those to a low boil.  Added in a little less than a 1/4 cup flour (sifted) and stirred that until slightly thick. Flour is just one of those ingredients that you can add more of if you prefer your soups super thick, or less if you prefer it a little liquidy.  I added some cheese (add up to a cup for really cheesy soup), white pepper and fresh thyme.  After the cheese had started to melt, I added back in my steamed veggies and a splash of heavy cream.  I took it off the stove and immediately served it to my boys.  They ate it UP like there was no tomorrow!

I truly think you could add just about ANY vegetable to this – steamed – and have it be just as delicious.  I just happened to add what I already had laying around in my refrigerator.   It was yummy!!!

2 heads broccoli

1/2 peppers (yellow, orange, red or green)

1 1/2 – 2 c milk

1 clove garlic (minced or crushed)

2 t chicken flavoring

salt/pepper

cheddar cheese (about 1/2 – 1 cup)

1/4 c flour (sifted)

(optional : fresh thyme)

splash of heavy cream

 

One thought on “Creamy Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  1. raschelle says:

    i love that its Fall at the Weldon home! Here too, despite that we have no seasons at all! I wish I could sip that soup with you friend!

Leave a Reply

